Ordinarily, people throw away their junk mail.  My wife is no ordinary woman.  In response to a couple of choice pieces that came in last week, she wrote the following letters.  I love my wife!

February 1, 2010

Dear [name withheld to protect the pawn of the state],

Yesterday we received a flyer from you advertising that we could have our furnace and air conditioner replaced for much less than the fair market cost, due to available stimulus money.  Your letter states, “The government is actually paying you up to $1,500 to lower your heating and cooling cost when investing in a high efficiency system.”  This is flat wrong.  “The government” doesn’t have money of its own.

Your flyer should more accurately state, “Your government is forcibly taking money from your neighbors and giving it to you so that you can purchase a new furnace and air conditioner for less than the fair market price.”

I promise you, I will never, never, use your company for my air conditioning or furnace needs.

Sincerely,

Karen Brockway

The Administrative Offices of CLG
1262 West 12700 South
Riverton, UT 84065

February 1, 2010

Dear Community Lending Group Administrative Offices

Yesterday we received a flyer from your office advertising:  “Fannie & Freddie are now able to offer Affordable Housing Programs to both high and low income households for home purchase, refinance and debt consolidation, with fixed interest rates at 4.125% on loan amounts up to $625,000.”

The letter stated that Fannie and Freddie are able to do this because of HR 3221: “HUD’s Federal Housing Administration will offer assistance to home owners…”  This is a false statement.  HUD’s Federal Housing Administration has no money of its own to give to others.

Your flyer should have more accurately stated, “Because the government is taking money from your neighbors (who purchased their homes responsibly), you may now have a loan at a low interest rate made available to you (who purchased your home and accumulated debt irresponsibly).”

We are not in need of your program, because we purchased our home well below what our income could afford, and we paid off our home in less than 10 years.  But even if I did need a new loan, I would not participate in any program that forcibly takes money from my neighbors to make up for my own irresponsibility.  If I cannot obtain a loan in the fair market, I should not expect my fellow citizens to be forced to provide funds for me.  It is immoral and unethical to do so.

Sincerely,

Karen Brockway

